#14 Bobcat Men’s Tennis Blanked by #10 Cougars in PBC Tourney

#14 Bobcat Men’s Tennis Blanked by #10 Cougars in PBC Tourney

Box Score

by Katie Parker, sports information graduate assistant

JONESBORO, Ga. – The No. 14 Georgia College & State University men’s tennis team’s (15-6) hopes of a conference tournament championship came to an end Saturday, as the Bobcats fell 5-0 to No. 10 Columbus State University (16-3) in the second round of the Peach Belt Conference (PBC) Tournament.

In doubles action, CSU’s No. 11-ranked Frank Suarez and Christophe Noblet defeated Jerome Leborgne (Coordimanche, France) and Joao Casagrande (Sao Paulo, Brazil) 8-4. Slotted second, Georgia College seniors Max Beliankou (Minsk, Belarus) and Giovane Nucci (Santa Catarina, Brazil) fell 9-7 to Olivier Simonet. The Bobcat pair fell to 9-6 on the season, a team best in doubles.

Daniel Stomber and Filip Cojbasic slipped past the Bobcat team of Leo Bernardes (Sao Paulo, Brazil) and Johan Wadstein (Helsingborg, Sweden) 9-8, giving the Cougars a 3-0 advantage entering singles play.

At fourth singles, Stomberg swept Nucci 6-2 and 6-4, giving the Bobcat a 9-8 overall record. Georgia College’s Bernardes surrendered a 6-2 and 6-3 pair to Noblet, dropping Bernardes to 14-4 in singles action. The sophomore’s 14-4 is the second highest on the team, just behind Beliankou;s 16-3.

The Bobcats now wait to hear their fate concerning the NCAA Southeast Regional Tournament, which will take place May 6-8.  

The GCSU Department of Athletics, winners of the 2008-09 PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, GCSU prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the Bobcats' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at Twitter.com username GCSUSID for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCSUBobcats.com to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GCSU Athletics Hall of Fame.