Bobcats Land Six on NCBWA All-Region Squads, Carty Takes Coaching Honor

Bobcats Land Six on NCBWA All-Region Squads, Carty Takes Coaching Honor

Complete Team List Below

by Katie Parker, sports information graduate assistant

MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Southeast Region Teams Thursday, May 20 with the No. 4 Georgia College & State University baseball team (39-15) claiming six spots, while head coach Tom Carty was named the region’s Coach of the Year. The members of the Southeast All-Region First Team are eligible for the NCBWA All-American team, which will be announced Wednesday, May 26.  

Georgia College snagged three slots on the all-region first team in senior centerfielder Sean Harrell (Martinez, Ga.), junior right fielder Shawn Ward (Martinez, Ga.) and senior pitcher Martin Dewald (Mannheim, Germany). Harrell leads the ‘Cats with a .453 batting average, while Ward is batting .364 with a team-high of 16 home runs and 82 RBI. Dewald posts an 11-2 record and a 3.56 ERA this season with 108 strikeouts over 103.2 innings pitched. 

This was the second all-region nod this season for both Dewald and Harrell, as the seniors were named to the Daktronics list last week. The German native also took top pitching honors being named NCBWA Southeast Pitcher of the Year.

The Bobcats put a pair of juniors on the all-region second team in catcher Richard Pirkle (Norcross, Ga.) and second baseman Jason Veyna (Lamar, Colo.), while senior leftfielder Kyle Allen (Conyers, Ga.) earned honorable mention. Pirkle owns a .358 average, sharing the team-high with 16 home runs. Veyna owns a .319 batting average, while Allen is second on the team with .379.

Advancing to the World Series for the first time since 1995, the Bobcats open up play Saturday in Cary, N.C. taking on No. 1-ranked the UC-San Diego at 5 p.m.  

The GCSU Department of Athletics, winners of the 2008-09 PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, GCSU prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the Bobcats' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at username GCSUSID for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GCSU Athletics Hall of Fame.


First Team

C - Sean Cotton, Tusculum

1B - Jason Rogers, Columbus State

2B - Chas Anthony, Erskine

3B - Craig Lyerly, Catawba

SS - Barrett Kleinknecht, Francis Marion

OF - Bryan Fogle, Erskine

        Sean Harrell, GCSU

        Jeremy Nowak, Mount Olive

        Shawn Ward, GCSU

UT - Seth Kivett, UNC Pembroke

DH - Mike Knox, Mount Olive

SP - Martin Dewald, GCSU

        Chris Rearick, North Georgia

        William Buzhardt, Erskine

        Don Sandifer, Francis Marion

RP - Atlee Pearson, Erskine

         Brian Willis, UNC Pembroke


Second Team

C - Richard Pirkle, GCSU

1B - Jared Richmond, Tusculum

2B - Jason Veyna, GCSU

3B - Jordan Erisman, North Georgia

SS - Mills Rogers, Carson-Newman

OF - Bobby Leeper, Mount Olive

        Wade Moore, Catawba

        Bill Rice, USC Aiken

       Jeff Lockwood, Carson-Newman

UT - Jesse Lancaster, Mount Olive

DH - Nick Aranas, USC Aiken

SP - Nathan Furr, Catawba

        Jackson Massey, Mount Olive

       Carter Capps, Mount Olive

       Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke

RP - Brandon Forshee, Francis Marion

        Wil Honeycutt, Catawba


Honorable Mention

C - John Roberts, Armstrong Atlantic

1B - John Bolden, Erskine

2B - Logan Isaacs, Wingate

OF - Mike Kitt, Mars Hill

        Kyle Allen, GCSU

        Chad Sage, North Georgia

DH - Sean Finucane, Tusculum

        Brian Dice, Lenoir-Rhyne

SP - Thomas Campbell, Columbus State

        Trevor Mullins, Catawba

        Jonathan Armold, Flagler

RP - Luke Wilhelm, Pfeiffer