#18 GC Women’s Tennis Sweeps Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, 9-0

#18 GC Women’s Tennis Sweeps Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, 9-0

ORLANDO, Fla. – The No. 18 Georgia College women's tennis team (9-8) swept their final spring break neutral site match Monday afternoon, as the Bobcats defeated the University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez 9-0.

Kayla Barksdale (Augusta, Ga.) and Katie Krupp (Evans, Ga.) extended their winning streak to seven matches as the duo defeated Christine Raymond and Nicole Rosich 8-1.

May Johnson (Sydney, Australia) and Ivana Marevic (Rottweil, Germany) shut out Coralys Colon and Andrea Rivera 8-0.

Michelle Lingner (Dunwoody, Ga.) and Sarah Murray (Alpharetta, Ga.) made quick work of Ana Nieves and Mara Michelle Colon 8-1.

Krupp pushed the lead to 4-0 as she downed Mara Michelle Colon 6-0, 6-1. Marevic followed quickly behind with a 6-1, 6-1 victory to clinch the team victory.

Barksdale earned her 12th victory in 17 matches with a 6-1, 6-0 win over Raymond.

Playing in the No. 5 slot, Lingner easily defeated Andrea Rivera 6-0, 6-2.

Johnson continued her hot streak, dropping only one game on her way to a 6-0, 6-1 win over Coralys Colon.

Murray earned her second collegiate victory as the freshman defeated Nicole Rivera 6-3, 3-6, 10-6.

The Bobcats will head back to the Centennial Center tennis facility for a Peach Belt Conference (PBC) match against UNC Pembroke Friday, March 29 at 2 p.m.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at www.twitter.com/BobcatSports and www.facebook.com/gcbobcats for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCBobcats.com for more information, and to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GC Athletics Hall of Fame.