GC’s Aquino Chosen to Reese’s All-Star Game

GC’s Aquino Chosen to Reese’s All-Star Game

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Georgia College senior forward Ryan Aquino (Roswell, Ga.) has been chosen for one of Division II Basketball’s highest honors, a spot in the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC)/Reese’s Division II All-Star Game.

Aquino will join 20 of the best players in Division II men’s basketball from the 2011-12 season to play a showcase game during the Division II Final Four Friday, March 23 at The Bank of Kentucky Center at Northern Kentucky University.

Aquino led the Peach Belt Conference (PBC) in rebounding at 10.4 rebounds a game and also averaged 17.6 points a game to garner first team All-Southeast Region honors from both Daktronics and the NABC. Aquino also recorded an amazing 16 double-doubles.

All-time, Georgia College has now had just three student-athletes selected for this game, including guard Shaun Keaton (2006-09) 2009 and forward Jeremy Mayweather (2004-06) in 2006.

Joining Aquino is just one other Peach Belt Conference (PBC) student-athlete in PBC Player of the Year Dwight Tolbert of Lander University.

Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at www.nabc.org.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at www.twitter.com/BobcatSports and www.facebook.com/gcbobcats for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCBobcats.com for more information, and to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GC Athletics Hall of Fame.


2012 Division II All-Star Selections

Stefan Bonneau, C.W. Post
Ahmad Harris, Bloomfield
Scott Dennis, Christian Brothers
Lance Kearse, Eckerd
Da'Ron Simms, West Georgia
Zack Warner, Christian Brothers
James Ellisor, Bemidji St.
Cody Schilling, Augustana (S.D.)
Reggie Jones, Cal St.-Stanislaus
Taylor Rhode, Alaska-Anchorage
Ashton Smith, Indiana (Pa.)
Raymont McElroy, W.Va. Wesleyan
Dwight Tolbert, Lander
Ryan Aquino, Georgia College
Keane Thomann, Missouri Southern
Milton Garner, Cameron
Brandon Hogg, Southern Indiana
Anthony Young, Kentucky Wesleyan
Adrian Moss, Indianapolis
Jon Van Hoose, Northern Kentucky
Paul "PJ" Reyes, Charleston (W.Va.)