#11 GC Golf’s Garrett, Smith, Trocchio Named All-American

#11 GC Golf’s Garrett, Smith, Trocchio Named All-American


NORMAN, Okla. – The honors keep coming in for the outstanding season No. 11 Georgia College golf just finished up, as juniors Patrick Garrett (Kennesaw, Ga.) and Taylor Smith (Mansfield, Ga.) and freshman Ryan Trocchio (Norcross, Ga.) were named to the Division II Ping All-American teams.

Garrett takes third team honors, while Smith and Trocchio were listed as an honorable mention. It is the first such honor for all three student-athletes.

An All-Peach Belt Conference (PBC) First Team pick, Garrett led the squad and finished fourth in the PBC with a 72.6 stroke average in his 11 starts. The junior had three top-10 finishes, including his victory at the 2012 Armstrong Pirate Invitational. At the NCAA Finals, he took 19th at even par, then won his match-play pairing in the quarterfinals 71-75.

An All-PBC Second Team selection, Smith played in 11 tournaments this season, posting a 73.1 stroke average. Smith had one top-five finish among his three top-10s on the year. In the NCAA South/Southeast SuperRegional, Smith helped lead the Bobcats to the victory, taking second overall at five-under par, one stroke behind medalist honors. He was second on the squad and 15th overall at the NCAA Finals at one-under.

Trocchio was the PBC Freshman of the Year and garnered an all-conference second team nod. The rookie shot a 73.5 average over 10 events, nabbing two top-five finishes among his six top-10s. At the NCAA Finals, he finished tops on the squad and fifth overall at six-under par. He also took his quarterfinal match-play round 71-74.

All-time, Bobcat golf has earned 24 All-America honors, all coming under head coach Jimmy Wilson. A year ago, Joe Young was a second-team pick, while Billy Shida earned honorable mention.

The Bobcats had a phenomenal 2011-12 campaign, winning an NCAA South/Southeast SuperRegional Championship without the benefit of a single senior. The squad advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals as well. The region title was just the second in school history, and the Bobcats put three on the All-Peach Belt Conference (PBC) teams and garnered the third PBC Freshman of the Year in program history, now adding three All-American honors as well.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at www.twitter.com/BobcatSports and www.facebook.com/gcbobcats for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCBobcats.com for more information.


Division II PING All-America Teams

First Team

Matt Atkins, USC-Aiken

Trevor Blair, CSU-Stanislaus

Josh Creel, Central Oklahoma

Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey

Carlos Rodriguez, West Florida

Marcelo Rozo, Lynn

Kyle Souza, Chico State

Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern

Jordan Walor, UNC-Pembroke

 Second Team

Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian

Ty Chandler, North Alabama

Eric Frazzetta, Chico State

Jake Greer, North Alabama

Zack Kempa, IUP

Jim Knous, Colorado School of Mines

Oscar Lengden, Nova Southeastern

Daniel Stapff, Barry


Third Team

Ricardo Celia, Nova Southeastern

Kyle Chappell, Dixie State

Daniel Claytor, Barton

Rob Damschen, CSU-Stanislaus

Patrick Garrett, Georgia College

Craig Gibson, Georgia Southwestern

Dylan Goodwin, Western Washington

J.P. Griffin, Georgia Southwestern


Honorable Mention

Matthew Campbell, Newberry

Spencer Cole, Rollins

Case Gard, Florida Southern

Marcelo Huarte, Barry

Luke Kwon, St. Edward’s

Hayden Letian, USC-Aiken

Chris McCracken, CSU-Stanislaus

Jonathan McCurry, UNC-Pembroke

Greg Mergel, Flagler

Cy Moritz, Central Missouri

Matt Motes, Armstrong Atlantic State

Santiago Quintero, St. Edward’s

Kevin Rei, Chico State

Travis Russell, Hawaii-Hilo

Dillon Rust, Central Oklahoma

Marcus Segerstrom, Barry

Taylor Smith, Georgia College

Alex Sobstad, CSU-Monterey Bay

Paul Tighe, Wilmington

Ryan Trocchio, Georgia College

Nick Varelia, Western Washington

Daniel Young, Lynn