PBC Releases Baseball Tourney Bracket, Conference Champ Bobcats Top-Seed

by Tyler Peck, sports information graduate assistant

MARTINEZ, Ga. – The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) released the 2010 baseball tournament bracket, including the top four teams from their respective divisions and the overall No. 1 seed, and PBC Champions Georgia College & State University (33-12, 17-4 PBC).

The tourney is single-elimination and will begin on Saturday, May 8, at USC Aiken’s Roberto Hernandez Stadium in Aiken, S.C. and conclude on Sunday, May 9. 
The overall No. 1 seed Georgia College takes on the No. 4 seed USC Aiken in the night contest at 6 p.m. Saturday.
Flagler College, the East No. 3 seed, and North Georgia, the West No. 2 seed, will play their opening-round game at Lake Olmstead Stadium, the home of the South Atlantic League’s Single-A Augusta Greenjackets, at 11 a.m. Saturday.
East seed No. 1 Francis Marion University takes on West No. 4 seed Georgia Southwestern at 11 a.m. in the opening round.
UNC Pembroke, the East No. 2 seed, takes on West No. 3 seed Columbus State University at 2:30 p.m. May 8.
Semifinal games will be played Sunday, May 9 at 11 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. with the PBC Championship game at 6 p.m.
The Bobcats host No. 20 Erskine College Wednesday, April 28 at 6 p.m. in the final home game of the regular season.

The GCSU Department of Athletics, winners of the 2008-09 PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 10 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, GCSU prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the Bobcats' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at Twitter.com username GCSUSID for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCSUBobcats.com to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GCSU Athletics Hall of Fame.